Get the Cheapest Car Insurance in GA
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in GA you can use the insurance finder tool above to get instant quotes on the top insurance companies in georgia. Compare up to 20 georgia auto insurance companies and save up to 60% on car insurance in GA!
Car insurance laws and requirements vary from state to state and it’s a good idea to be familiar with the requirements where you live. If you’re curious about Georgia car insurance laws, you’ve come to the right place. Here, we’ll review the state requirements for car insurance, talk about the different parts of your policy, and even show you where to get auto insurance quotes in GA to help you find new or better coverage.
Georgia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Car insurance is mandatory in Georgia. In fact, failure to have it can result in fines of $200 to $1,000, one year in jail, and/or having your license and registration suspended. The cost of not having it can be quite high. What if you get into an accident? Worse, what if you cause one? If you get caught driving without insurance, how will you get to work? What if you go to jail?
You can see that it’s really important to follow state law. Here are the minimum requirements for liability policy coverage in the state of Georgia:
- Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000
What is it? Bodily injury liability coverage pays for another person’s injuries if you are in an at-fault accident, meaning the accident is your fault. It covers short and long terms costs to anyone who is injured. It’s not limited to the driver of the other car. Passengers, bystanders, or even pedestrians who just happen to be walking by and get injured are covered.
What does it pay for? It covers medical costs for the injured party. This includes everything from the ambulance ride to the hospital from the accident scene to follow up care or rehab after. It also pays for equipment like crutches, wheelchairs, splints, or braces. If there’s a fatality, it’s also used to pay for the funeral.
This money covers more than just direct health related expenses. It can also cover part of your legal fees if the injured party takes you to court or to compensate the injured party for pain and suffering. If they are unable to work because of their injuries, this can also cover loss of income.
What does the dollar amount mean? You may have noticed that the dollar amount is actually written as 2 different numbers which can be a little confusing. The first number is the amount covered per person in an accident. The second number is the total amount covered per accident.
So, what does this mean for you? Here’s an example. You carry the minimum insurance required under Georgia law and are involved in an accident for which you are at fault. There are 3 people injured. One person sustains injuries that total $30,000. Since the per person limit is $25,000, this would mean that you are personally responsible for the remaining $5,000.
Now, let’s say the second person’s injuries cost $10,000. This person would be completely covered by your insurance.
Here’s where it gets a little tricky. Person 3 has injuries that cost $20,000. Since your per person limit is $25,000, you might think this amount is fully covered. But remember, there’s a $50,000 per accident limit. In this case, the insurance company has already paid out $30,000 for person 1 and $10,000 for person 2, or $40,000 in total. That leaves $10,000 in coverage for person 3 and a total of $15,000 for you to cover out of pocket.
With minimum coverage, this accident will cost your insurance company $50,000 and cost you the remaining $20,000. That’s a lot of money. Perhaps it has you thinking about finding better coverage and affordable car insurance GA law accepts.
- Minimum property damage liability: $25,000
What is it and what does it pay for? Property damage liability covers any property damage that you cause in an accident. This can be as major as totaling someone’s car or as minor as hitting someone’s mailbox after swerving to avoid hitting a dog.
In the above example, let’s assume all 3 people involved in the accident each had damage done to their car. Your property damage liability could add up quickly. If each person had $10,000 worth of damage done to their car, that’s $30,000 total. Truth be told, that’s probably a conservative estimate. That leaves you responsible for $5,000 for property damage out of pocket. But remember, you already have to come up with $20,000 to cover the cost for the injuries that your insurance didn’t cover. As you can see, minimal coverage can become quite expensive.
Are Georgia State Required Minimums Enough for You?
You might be a little surprised after that example that, despite having insurance that meets the minimum legal requirement, you would still end up having to come up with $25,000 that your policy doesn’t cover. Maybe you’re asking yourself, is having the cheapest auto insurance in GA worth it if I’m going to have to come with so much money to cover the excess if I have an accident? That’s a good question. Let’s dig a bit deeper.
How Do I Know How Much Liability Insurance I Need?
A lot of experts recommend getting the most coverage that you can comfortably afford. The truth is that increasing your coverage isn’t going to affect your monthly payment all that much. After all, what’s an extra $20, $30, or $50 a month when it can save you from having to come up with tens of thousands of dollars if you get into an accident?
If you’re young, drive an old car, rent your home, and don’t have a large savings account, you can probably have lower limits. To put it bluntly, if you have little, people aren’t going to sue your for it if you can’t come up with the money.
That said, if you own your home and have a comfortable savings account, you have assets that can be used to cover the gaps that your insurance doesn’t cover. It would be in your best interest to increase your coverage. A general rule of thumb is to get a policy that covers the value of your total assets.
Other Kinds of Coverage
In addition to the state minimums, there are other things to consider when looking for cheap car insurance in GA.
Going back to the accident scenario, let’s assume that you are somehow able to come up with the money to cover the physical liability and property damage. What about your car? How will you afford to get it fixed? This is why you should consider adding collision insurance to your policy. It covers damages to your vehicle from an accident that you caused.
Comprehensive insurance covers damages to your car from things that aren’t your fault, like vandalism, severe weather, or even needing to replace a stolen car. Collision and comprehension are strongly recommended if you have a newer car. The question to ask yourself is, could I afford to replace this car if I had to? If the answer is no, collision and comprehensive insurance can really help you through a tough time.
If you are leasing or still making payments on your car, gap insurance is another thing to consider. In the event of an accident, gap insurance covers the difference between what you still owe and the value of your car after it’s been damaged.
Another optional benefit is uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. If you get into an accident with someone who is uninsured or doesn’t have coverage high enough to pay for your vehicle repairs, this kind of insurance covers the damages.
Medical coverage is yet another option. It covers you and your passengers in an accident and pays for healthcare expenses after any limits from your health insurance are reached. It’s recommended that you add this to your policy if you don’t have health insurance, don’t have good coverage, or just want some extra reassurance.
Alternatives types of coverage also include full coverage car insurance; which is just a made up term for insurance with very good coverage. Another type of insurance popular in georgia is calle no deposit car insurance; which is as the name implies insurance without a deposit. If you’re looking for very cheap no deposit car insurance, we recommend the link on the left.
Georgia Specific Details
There are some laws that can affect car insurance coverage in the state of Georgia that you should know about before you start shopping around.
The first is that car insurance companies in Georgia can opt not to renew your policy if you’ve had more than one accident in a 3 year period that you’re at fault for. They can also do this if you have claims that resulted in payouts of $750 or more.
The second this is good news! Georgia rewards you for being a good driver in the form of a 10% discount off your car insurance. There are some specific requirements, though. Drivers have to be 25 years of age or older, have a clean driving record going back 3 years, have no at-fault accidents, and attend a defensive driver course. Drivers under 25 can get the same discount by completing both classroom and practical training.
How Can I Find Cheap Car Insurance in GA?
Getting the best insurance in ga for the best price isn’t always straightforward, especially if you’re looking for good, cheap auto insurance in GA. Now that you know a little bit more about what’s really covered, you might be interested in getting a better policy. The best way to do that is to get car insurance quotes in GA from as many companies as you can. Find one that you can trust so you can make sure you get all of your questions answered.
Aren’t sure where to begin? Just enter your zip code in the box above and we’ll find you some of the best car companies in georgia!
I saved $460 yearly on my car insurance! I’ve never paid this little for car insurance in ga!
THANK YOU carinsurancebyme! I can’t beileve I saved so much money on car insurance. I also can’t beileve how ripped of the insurance companies have been. Thanks to you guys I saved a lot of money and time comparison shopping. This is seriously the cheapest car insurance in ga.
Found the cheapest auto insurance in ga with these guys. I couldn’t be happier. Zip code in box above, compare quotes and save. That’s all it took.